Exilian

Exilian Projects => Total War Mods - The Engineer's Shed => Mods, Maps & Game Add-Ons - The Bazaar => Valar Morghulis => Topic started by: davies1994 on April 19, 2016, 10:17:41 PM

Title: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: davies1994 on April 19, 2016, 10:17:41 PM
Hi, comrade-general sent me file replacements so that Jon Snow was my only general as Castle Black and hence the faction leader. I want to edit it again so that the bodyguard unit is infantry specifically the old ranger unit type if possible. On a side note is it possible to have no bodyguard unit and instead just the general with higher health?
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: Jubal on April 19, 2016, 10:34:47 PM
You can edit the leader's bodyguard in data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/descr_strat.txt - any unit you change it to also needs to have the bodyguard flag in data/export_descr_unit.txt.

You cannot remove a bodyguard unit - the lowest unit size in Rome: Total War is a base of six. There is a somewhat complex workaround using the ingame elephant designation that can permit one-person units, which is for example how we did the giants in Warhammer: Total War.

You can get plenty of guides on editing descr_strat and export_descr_unit online - I don't have time to do personalised edits like this for you, but I'm happy to give advice and help if you get stuck or more details on the one-man unit trick if you want those :)
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: davies1994 on April 19, 2016, 11:03:50 PM
In the descry_strat.txt this is what I have currently:

character   Jon Snow, named character, leader, age 17, , x 46, y 157
traits GoodCommander 3 , NaturalMilitarySkill 2 , GoodDefender 4 , Austere 2 , Intelligent 2
ancillaries mentor, scribe_ancillary
army
unit      ranger_bodyguard            exp 1 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
unit      old_guard            exp 2 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
unit      rangers            exp 1 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
unit      roman archer            exp 1 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0

So I need to change ranger_bodyguard to old_guard_bodyguard? Also can I add any unit here i.e. northern troops or dragons to get them in game or does it not work that way? Thanks for the help.
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: Jubal on April 19, 2016, 11:10:15 PM
You need to change ranger_bodyguard to the appropriate unit type in export_descr_unit.txt (usually known as EDU). So in this case it would just be old_guard (though I'm not sure if they're flagged as bodyguards in EDU, you'd need to check).

You can pick any unit, as long as:
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: davies1994 on April 19, 2016, 11:13:27 PM
Ok thanks I will have a play and see where I get :)
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: davies1994 on April 19, 2016, 11:15:27 PM
With regards to editing the EDU, how do I work out which in game rome factions the different houses are based/modelled on so I know what to edit?
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: Jubal on April 19, 2016, 11:24:29 PM
Here's a list:

Brutii - Tully
Britons - Stannis
Dacia - White Walkers
Carthage - Dorne
Gaul - Wildlings
Germans - Dothraki
Greek Cities - Greyjoy
Julii - Stark
Macedon - Renly
Numidia - Tyrell
Parthia - Pentos
Pontus - Volantis
Scipii - Arryn
Seleucid - Targaryen
Senate - Braavos
Slave - Rebels
Spain - Lannister
Thrace - Night's Watch
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: davies1994 on April 19, 2016, 11:27:51 PM
Amazing thanks :)
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: comrade_general on April 19, 2016, 11:37:08 PM
You can edit the leader's bodyguard in data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/descr_strat.txt - any unit you change it to also needs to have the bodyguard flag in data/export_descr_unit.txt.
I can confirm that it doesn't have to be set as a bodyguard in the edu. You can use virtually any unit for a character's bodyguard when setting it in descr_strat, as long as that faction is listed in the edu as an owner of that unit.
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: Jubal on April 19, 2016, 11:38:02 PM
Oh, huh. I stand corrected.
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: comrade_general on April 19, 2016, 11:56:53 PM
You cannot remove a bodyguard unit - the lowest unit size in Rome: Total War is a base of six. There is a somewhat complex workaround using the ingame elephant designation that can permit one-person units, which is for example how we did the giants in Warhammer: Total War.
You could use invisible soldiers for the unit only leaving the general himself visible, or only the standard bearer visible, which is what I did for Medivh in Orcs & Humans.
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: davies1994 on April 20, 2016, 12:06:40 AM
Ok so attempt one ended in the game crashing after the raven loading screen. This is what I have done to the desc file:

character   Jon Snow, named character, leader, age 17, , x 46, y 157
traits GoodCommander 3 , NaturalMilitarySkill 2 , GoodDefender 4 , Austere 2 , Intelligent 2
ancillaries mentor, scribe_ancillary
army
unit      old_guard            exp 2 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
unit      old_guard            exp 2 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
unit      rangers            exp 1 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
unit      roman archer            exp 1 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
unit      hornfoots            exp 1 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0

In the EDU I added thrace to the ownership of the hornfoots, any ideas why its crashing?
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: comrade_general on April 20, 2016, 12:13:10 AM
That's all you changed? Are you using the -show_err command?
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: davies1994 on April 20, 2016, 12:15:19 AM
I have no clue what you mean sorry. I did also add thrace ownership to the thens.
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: comrade_general on April 20, 2016, 12:16:20 AM
When you made the shortcut to run the game you added -mod:got -nm now also add -show_err to that list and the game should give you an error message when it crashes.
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: davies1994 on April 20, 2016, 12:24:33 AM
Ok will add that, also I found the problem, I was being an idiot and put the two files in the wrong place, all corrected now and appears to be working for custom battles, however when it starts loading a nights watch campaign the bar gets 3/4 full and then I get a pop up saying its encountered an error etc.
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: comrade_general on April 20, 2016, 12:25:29 AM
Did you add the -show_err command before that? What does the error message say exactly?
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: davies1994 on April 20, 2016, 12:26:02 AM
Will add it and then see.
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: davies1994 on April 20, 2016, 12:38:32 AM
I have added it and now have -mod:got -nm -show_err but nothing appears to be different, its just a generic windows pop up where it says rome total war has stopped working and windows is looking for a solution, before it then changes to a problem caused the program to stop working correctly and it makes me close it.
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: comrade_general on April 20, 2016, 12:45:22 AM
Delete the map.rwm file in got/data/world/maps/base each time you test something in the campaign.

If that doesn't fix it then revert everything back to where you started and start doing one thing at a time while testing each time to see if it works. Like start by changing John's unit to the old_guard then seeing if it works, then change ownership of hornfoots and seeing if it works, then adding hornfoots to descr_strat and testing again. It's time consuming and a pain but that's how we do it.
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: davies1994 on April 20, 2016, 12:46:19 AM
Ok will do thanks, custom battles are working so its just the campaign.
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: davies1994 on April 20, 2016, 12:58:25 AM
Oddly enough its all working now after doing it one at a time.
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: comrade_general on April 20, 2016, 01:01:06 AM
Tried and true method. :)
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: davies1994 on April 20, 2016, 01:02:07 AM
Only thing I want to do now if possible is to make the unit cards for the thenns in the nights watch the same as they are for the wildlings. I assumed it would be the same but its not. It also seems that although I have put wildlings in my army, they aren't actually recruitable :/
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: davies1994 on April 20, 2016, 01:12:54 AM
Sorted the recruitment, so just looking to do unit cards now.
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: davies1994 on April 20, 2016, 02:15:21 AM
Is it possible to change a generals health?
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: comrade_general on April 20, 2016, 02:43:44 AM
Read the guidelines at the top of the edu to see which stat to edit. You'll either want to increase hit points or armor.
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: Jubal on April 20, 2016, 11:27:16 AM
That'll change health for the bodyguard, I think the general's own health is dealt with separately and can be edited through traits/ancillaries.
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: davies1994 on April 20, 2016, 03:11:37 PM
I have edited the bodyguards stats thanks. I still need to:

-Edit generals stats
-Change wildling unit cards
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: davies1994 on April 20, 2016, 04:39:14 PM
Done unit cards, just generals health, not sure how to do that though.
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: Jubal on April 20, 2016, 05:31:49 PM
Welcome to the wonderful world of trait editing:
http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showthread.php?201428-Modding-RTW-Guide-for-Traits-Ancillaries
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: davies1994 on April 20, 2016, 05:59:19 PM
That looks so confusing haha, thanks though I will have a proper look later. :)
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: davies1994 on April 20, 2016, 09:01:59 PM
Yeah I have no clue with this I am afraid, I can't even work out what files I need to play with.
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: comrade_general on April 20, 2016, 09:09:41 PM
Which is essentially why most modders don't even attempt to edit them.
Title: Re: How do you change generals bodyguard?
Post by: Jubal on April 20, 2016, 09:14:06 PM
If you're struggling to find them - I'm not sure the main mod has any edited traits, which might mean you'd need to copy the relevant files from the main data folder into the mod folder.