Author Topic: Hello there!  (Read 872 times)

maciek

• View Profile
    • Awards
Hello there!
« on: December 05, 2023, 09:17:21 PM »
Hi all,

I have been recently introduced to this community at Mastodon. I am a hobbyist game dev trying to build small and simple games at my free time. I've recently created a short roguelike game (that's how I learned about the forums :) - which I will probably introduce in a game dev section here soon :]

I am very pleased to see that the community also cares about history as I am bit geeky about ancient and medieval architecture. (One of my goals is to release one day a game based on that, but cannot find an interesting mechanics so far ;)

Thanks for the invite!

Glaurung

• Sakellarios
    Financial Officer
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Hello there!
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2023, 10:22:36 PM »
Hi there! Welcome to Exilian - please do look around the forums, and feel free to comment on anything you find interesting.

I had an idea for a possible architecture game, but I've no idea how practical or interesting it might be. It's a single player game: the player is a Master Mason (in modern terms, the architect or engineer) building a medieval cathedral. They have to manage the various supplies - stone, wood, etc. - to build the different parts of the cathedral, along with the workforce doing the construction. All this takes money, of course, and they need to keep sweet-talking the church authorities and wealthy citizens to pay for the work. If the funds run too low, work stops, and all the workers leave - then when more donations come in, it costs more to hire a new bunch of workers. Also, you can have random disruptions: part of the building collapses, or there's a famine or plague affecting the city. How does that sound?

Jubal

• Megadux
    Executive Officer
  • Awards Awarded for oustanding services to Exilian!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2023, 11:51:49 PM »