Author Topic: Hibernia's Last Ridaire's  (Read 3049 times)

Phoenixguard09

• Megas Domestikos
    Voting Member
  • Spiffy Haired One
  • Awards Awarded for outstanding services to Exilian!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Hibernia's Last Ridaire's
« on: January 13, 2011, 09:58:52 PM »
Hi guys, this a story I wrote tonight for a competition.  Just thought you guys might be interested.  

DISCLAIMER* I'm aware that I've probably made loads of big mistakes as far as the period goes, but they make the story interesting.  Like for instance Ridires wearing lamellar.  Probably never happened.  But at least the Gaelic is accurate.  But then again I'm still learning and who's to say that they spoke Irish Gaelic back then anyway.  

The twelve Hiberno/Roman auxiliaries rode out an hour after dawn, on a cold, dark, British morning.  Small droplets of rain splattered against the Ridaire’s lamellar cuirasses, as Caradoc O’Bannain led his men through the gates of Aballava Fort, situated along Hadrian’s Wall.  His men had been defending Roman interests in Briton for fifteen years, and now, their time was almost done.  One more mission kept the men from returning home, across the Eirish Sea and back to Hibernia.  After so many decades of war on this most northern frontier, the Roman Empire had declared their orders to abandon the colonies in Britannia.  The Pict and Briton Celtic tribes had always resisted Roman rule.  While south of Hadrian’s Wall was civilised, north was untamed and dangerous.  And that was exactly where Caradoc and his men had to go.  

Their mission was to abduct the Roman dignitary, Manius Numiceus who was held prisoner by the Celts.  This would take Caradoc’s Ridaires past Hadrian’s Wall and deep into Celt territory.  However in doing so, they would earn their discharge and would be free to return west, to Hibernia.