Information, Introductions, Etc.

Started by Lizard, August 12, 2012, 01:17:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lizard

Hello, kids.

You'll get information on assessment, etc, in due time. For now, if you don't have an IDE or compiler compatible with Java, you can keep yourselves busy with downloading Netbeans and all the Java gear you'll need (the instructions are pretty self-explanatory so I'm sure you'll all be fine).

Other than that, you probably all know each other but I don't know you. I'm new to these parts, and mostly here for reasons relating to this course. So who are we all? I'm Liz, a third-year Computer Science student who enjoys building small robots and writing trashy novels. Java's my first language, so I'm pretty confident in using it to teach the object-orientated philosophy.

So for now, introductions. Detailed course information and assessment information coming up!
A coder, a hoodie, a coffee pot, a robot.

"A ship in port is safe, but that is not what ships are built for."

comrade_general

Hello, Liz. I am comrade_general, a working stiff who enjoys science fiction and complex thinking processes. Several years ago I studied a bit of object-oriented programming using C#, so you will be starting from scratch with me. ;)

Lizard

Hello, CG (I'm shortening you, I hope that's not too informal). I also like my sci-fi so if I ever run out of work to give you we'll have something to talk about.

As for your experience with C#, please excuse any early lessons which are sort-of patronising - which goes for everyone else, as well. When I say this course starts from the beginning, believe me it does!

comrade_general

Not a problem (on all counts)!

I definitely need some refreshing on the whole thing. ;)

Othko97