Author Topic: Warhammer: Total War - A Call To Arms Release!  (Read 158800 times)

arafinwe

  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Warhammer: Total War - A Call To Arms Release!
« Reply #30 on: November 10, 2013, 06:00:08 PM »
hi,

i searched all the old files and deleted them, hopefully i didn't miss any. But i still got the same problem, this is the error i got:
script error in:
WHTW/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/descr_strat.txt
at line 885, column 12
could not create settlement at script line 885


Dunadd

  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Warhammer: Total War - A Call To Arms Release!
« Reply #31 on: November 14, 2013, 09:44:26 AM »


don't delete anything yet in case i'm wrong, but i'm pretty sure there are some files that the game recreates if you delete them - and for some mods you need to delete them before running the mod. I'm wondering if that could solve this (though i didn't have that problem myself as far as i can remember). Could be worth googling though.

Of course also try what Jubal and Comrade General have suggested - they are actual modders - i only know how to edit the edu and edb files a bit

If all else fails uninstall Rome Total War entirely and go to start and type REGEDIT in the search box - the Regedit programme icon will come up and you can look through the registry keys to delete any Rome registry keys that weren't uninstalled - though make sure you back up your registry first in case you delete something vital to windows by mistake.

Then restart your computer and reinstall Rome and then see if you can install and run WHTW
« Last Edit: November 14, 2013, 09:48:15 AM by Dunadd »

dapegon

  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Warhammer: Total War - A Call To Arms Release!
« Reply #32 on: January 07, 2014, 11:47:51 AM »
Hi there.

I've just registered to say thank you a lot for your efforts. This mod is very nice and I love having the opportunity to battle from the New World to the Old World and beyond. A very good recreation of Warhammer environment.

Just a question. While playing with high elves I've found that the commander's portraits are human, bearded, dark haired men possibly from an Arabian faction. Just wondering if it is an installation problem (I have Rome Total War with both expansions, Alexander and barbarian invasions) or it is a mod feature.

Anyway, minor problem (if a problem at all) that doesn't mind.

Good work!

Jubal

  • Megadux
    Executive Officer
  • Posts: 35338
  • Karma: 140
  • Awards Awarded for oustanding services to Exilian!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Warhammer: Total War - A Call To Arms Release!
« Reply #33 on: January 07, 2014, 12:03:20 PM »
That isn't an installation issue, that's something we didn't fix from original Rome: Total War.

The issue is that portraits in RTW are attached to cultures, not factions, so if we'd changed portraits:
- Kislev, both Empire, and Brets would have shared (kinda works)
- Lizardmen would've got their own (only one that really works well)
- The 3 elf factions would've shared (barely works given how different the 3 factions are for skin tones etc)
- Araby and Tomb Kings (doesn't work)
- Dwarfs, Vampire Counts, Chaos Dwarfs, Luccini would've shared (and now the problem really becomes apparent)
- Orcs, Skaven, Chaos, Ogres, Dragon Islanders, Beastmen (Yeah.)

We could've put some generic thing in that wasn't a face, but we decided whilst testing that it was better to still have a portrait so you could tell who was who, even if the portraits were all wrong for species etc. Hope that explains it, and really glad you're enjoying the mod.  :)
The duke, the wanderer, the philosopher, the mariner, the warrior, the strategist, the storyteller, the wizard, the wayfarer...

dapegon

  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Warhammer: Total War - A Call To Arms Release!
« Reply #34 on: January 07, 2014, 07:17:14 PM »
Ok, I understand.

It's not a real problem, after all. It's just a little weird, having everything smoothed but these portraits, but I suppose you're right and it's the best option. At least you can know who is who.

As I told before, great work. Having tons of fun!

slym

  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Warhammer: Total War - A Call To Arms Release!
« Reply #35 on: January 21, 2014, 04:50:09 PM »
hi guys,it's an amazing mod! i tried to install it but it doesn't run.  sorry for my english but i will try to be clear. i did the first step,but have problems with the second. when i write -mod:WHTW to change the target of the new shortcut it says that it is not correct. what is the problem? what can i do?     p.s. i have roma total war 1.0 version    thank you and again amazing mod

slym

  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Warhammer: Total War - A Call To Arms Release!
« Reply #36 on: January 21, 2014, 05:35:25 PM »
ok sorry i resolved the second step problem,but when i double-click the new shortcut icon it doesn't run. i don't know why,i read again the steps and i did all right,i think.  when i double-click the screen became black and it crushes.  any idea? help

Jubal

  • Megadux
    Executive Officer
  • Posts: 35338
  • Karma: 140
  • Awards Awarded for oustanding services to Exilian!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Warhammer: Total War - A Call To Arms Release!
« Reply #37 on: January 21, 2014, 07:04:13 PM »
If you don't have the Rome: Total War 1.5 patch, you need to get that.  :)
The duke, the wanderer, the philosopher, the mariner, the warrior, the strategist, the storyteller, the wizard, the wayfarer...

slym

  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Warhammer: Total War - A Call To Arms Release!
« Reply #38 on: January 22, 2014, 02:42:56 PM »
ok great :) .  now it runs good but there is a problem during the game. sometimes i can't save the game, i can't click the box "save game" and also "charge game" during the play. it is only my problem or there is a way to resolve it?   sorry again for my english ;)

AnubisHollow

  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Warhammer: Total War - A Call To Arms Release!
« Reply #39 on: February 04, 2014, 11:23:01 AM »
Hello

This mod looks great, but I just can´t get it to work.

I´ve looked in comments all over the Internet, did as the readme says and basically tried everything. I have ordinary rome total war installed under program filesx86- Activision, i have a windows 7 laptop and I think the game is patched to 1.5. I don´t know how to confirm this, because the exe seems to be last modified in 2004 when I check in properties, but I installed both patches (1.3 and 1.5) succesfully.

The thing is, I did what the readme says and typed "-mod:WHTW" (the "whtw" in caps)right after exe", leaving a space. I then tried tyìng show_err before and after, with no result. The game loads for a sec, you can see the credits...etc and after just a second, black screen, crashes to desktop. There´s no warning log of any kind, at least I didn´t see it.

Any help? I´m desperate, and I would appreciate some advice. Thanks! :)

Jubal

  • Megadux
    Executive Officer
  • Posts: 35338
  • Karma: 140
  • Awards Awarded for oustanding services to Exilian!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Warhammer: Total War - A Call To Arms Release!
« Reply #40 on: February 04, 2014, 11:42:31 AM »
The most likely thing is that the file structure isn't right.

You should have your WHTW folder inside the Rome: Total War folder, and the Warhammer Total War data folder directly inside that/

Common mistakes are a structure that goes
Rome - Total War/WHTW/WHTW/data
or
Rome - Total War/data/WHTW

If either of these are the case it won't work.

So check that first, and then if that's not the issue we'll try and work out what is :)
The duke, the wanderer, the philosopher, the mariner, the warrior, the strategist, the storyteller, the wizard, the wayfarer...

Tom

  • Citizens
    Voting Member
  • Posts: 1506
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Warhammer: Total War - A Call To Arms Release!
« Reply #41 on: February 04, 2014, 11:48:14 AM »
I had that problem when I first got this mod, make sure the path is correct, really check it, you may have missed something. Try this, I think it worked for me I'll check in about 45 minutes and post accordingly.  Also, check out the rest of the site, its really good, I first came here for this mod as well but stuck around and I'm enjoying it. :)

Edit: listen to Jubal, he made it he knows best :)


This is my target path (for windows eight): "C:\Program Files (x86)\Activision\Rome - Total War\RomeTW.exe" -mod:WHTW
This is my start in: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Activision\Rome - Total War"
« Last Edit: February 04, 2014, 01:03:04 PM by Tom »

AnubisHollow

  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Warhammer: Total War - A Call To Arms Release!
« Reply #42 on: February 04, 2014, 04:05:54 PM »
I forgot to mention that the file structure is also correct, I have the Rome Total War folder and inside the WHTW folder.

My path is also set correctly. The vanilla game runs fine.

Edit: and I have the warhammer data folder directly inside the WHTW folder.
Also, I changed the name of the shortcut to warhammer total war, if that helps.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2014, 04:12:56 PM by AnubisHollow »

Jubal

  • Megadux
    Executive Officer
  • Posts: 35338
  • Karma: 140
  • Awards Awarded for oustanding services to Exilian!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Warhammer: Total War - A Call To Arms Release!
« Reply #43 on: February 04, 2014, 04:16:45 PM »
Can you paste your command line here, and a screenshot of your file structure/windows explorer? Thanks :)
The duke, the wanderer, the philosopher, the mariner, the warrior, the strategist, the storyteller, the wizard, the wayfarer...

AnubisHollow

  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Warhammer: Total War - A Call To Arms Release!
« Reply #44 on: February 04, 2014, 04:37:08 PM »
Could you please explain me how to view the command line and make a screenshot of my file structure?

By the way, turns out the vanilla game also crashes. It seems that it has begun crashing right after I patched it. Before I patched it, it worked fine :(