Author Topic: Testing 0.6!  (Read 7591 times)

Bercor

  • Citizens
    Voting Member
  • Posts: 573
  • Karma: 10
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Testing 0.6!
« Reply #15 on: March 14, 2014, 05:04:17 PM »
That's probably because the desc_strat is incomplete. Ahowl still needs to tweak it a bit, because, right now, it causes CTD. Use the desc_strat from the 0.6 folder.

ahowl11

  • Moderator
  • Posts: 1198
  • Karma: 16
  • RTR Project
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Testing 0.6!
« Reply #16 on: March 14, 2014, 05:05:29 PM »
What was the last thing you did before the CTD?
God, Family, Baseball, Friends, Rome Total War, and Exilian. What more could I possibly need?

The Sloth

  • Posts: 77
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Testing 0.6!
« Reply #17 on: March 14, 2014, 05:37:33 PM »
What was the last thing you did before the CTD?

Double click on the shortcut. Game is loading. CTD.

It doesn't matter which version of descr_strat I use.

0.5 was working just fine, too. I'll reinstall everything one more time later, but I'd be surprised if it worked. Am I really the only one with this? The fact that there is no error message implies that it's not just some little coding issue.

ahowl11

  • Moderator
  • Posts: 1198
  • Karma: 16
  • RTR Project
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Testing 0.6!
« Reply #18 on: March 14, 2014, 05:56:52 PM »
All you did was put the 0.6 data over the 0.5 data right?
God, Family, Baseball, Friends, Rome Total War, and Exilian. What more could I possibly need?

The Sloth

  • Posts: 77
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Testing 0.6!
« Reply #19 on: March 14, 2014, 06:13:01 PM »
Yes, and I have just done it for the 3rd time. The only thing I noticed this time is that, for some reason, 0.5 had the vanilla main menu. What on earth is going on?

ahowl11

  • Moderator
  • Posts: 1198
  • Karma: 16
  • RTR Project
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Testing 0.6!
« Reply #20 on: March 14, 2014, 06:46:28 PM »
You must have installed something wrong somewhere.. Go back to the 0.5 install instructions and make sure you did everything
God, Family, Baseball, Friends, Rome Total War, and Exilian. What more could I possibly need?

The Sloth

  • Posts: 77
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Testing 0.6!
« Reply #21 on: March 14, 2014, 08:21:04 PM »
After lots of deleting and re-installing, it looks like I managed to at least get a proper 0.5 Beta again. I'll try to install 0.6 little by little and see what file(s) are causing problems, although that won't be easy, since several of them depend on each other. But that will have to wait until tomorrow. My nerves won't take any more of this.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2014, 08:31:08 PM by The Sloth »

ahowl11

  • Moderator
  • Posts: 1198
  • Karma: 16
  • RTR Project
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Testing 0.6!
« Reply #22 on: March 14, 2014, 08:54:15 PM »
I'm confused as to how you've had so much difficulty. Everyone else has been fine..
God, Family, Baseball, Friends, Rome Total War, and Exilian. What more could I possibly need?

The Sloth

  • Posts: 77
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Testing 0.6!
« Reply #23 on: March 15, 2014, 12:20:58 PM »
That makes two of us, then.

There seem to be different combinations of files that cause a textless CTD. The only file I found capable of causing a textless CTD all by itself is expanded_bi.

Just to be on the safe side: the Beta is supposed to go to RTW->data, not RTW->BI->data, right?

Bercor

  • Citizens
    Voting Member
  • Posts: 573
  • Karma: 10
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Testing 0.6!
« Reply #24 on: March 15, 2014, 12:52:09 PM »
Yeah, RTW->data.

The Sloth

  • Posts: 77
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Testing 0.6!
« Reply #25 on: March 16, 2014, 12:25:16 PM »
Well, anyway, no beta 0.6 for me.

Now the question is what I'm supposed to do from here on. I guess I can redo my previous trait work in a way that it won't affect any other files, so it shouldn't matter what beta I'm even using. Thoughts?

ahowl11

  • Moderator
  • Posts: 1198
  • Karma: 16
  • RTR Project
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Testing 0.6!
« Reply #26 on: March 16, 2014, 04:29:35 PM »
This makes just no sense what so ever. If you have 0.5 installed, all you have to do is download 0.6, and extract the contents of it's data folder into the data folder of 0.5..

Delete map.rwm and everything should run smoothly.

I'm not gonna continue until you we can get 0.6 working for you.

Take screens of the process and then post them here. Maybe we will catch the problem.
God, Family, Baseball, Friends, Rome Total War, and Exilian. What more could I possibly need?

b257

  • Citizens
    Voting Member
  • Posts: 124
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Testing 0.6!
« Reply #27 on: March 16, 2014, 10:09:08 PM »
Actually I'm having the same problem now too, I had to reinstall the game and the 0.5 beta worked fine but when I add 0.6 it stopped working for me too.

ahowl11

  • Moderator
  • Posts: 1198
  • Karma: 16
  • RTR Project
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Testing 0.6!
« Reply #28 on: March 17, 2014, 05:00:24 AM »
Bercor are you having any issues?
God, Family, Baseball, Friends, Rome Total War, and Exilian. What more could I possibly need?

Bercor

  • Citizens
    Voting Member
  • Posts: 573
  • Karma: 10
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Testing 0.6!
« Reply #29 on: March 17, 2014, 08:19:20 AM »
I didn't even tried to install 0.6, given the reports.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2014, 12:04:38 PM by Bercor »